American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
Leslie Bernstein Grants Program – 2014 Recipients

The Educational and Research Foundation for the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery is pleased to announce this year’s awardees for the Bernstein Grant Program. The Leslie Bernstein Grants Program is generously funded by an endowment from Leslie Bernstein, MD, DDS. The program is coordinated by the Research Committee of the Educational and Research Foundation for the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery and the Centralized Otolaryngology Research Efforts (C.O.R.E.). There are three grants available through the program:

  1. The Bernstein Grant .The purpose of the grant is to encourage original research projects which will advance facial plastic and reconstructive surgery. A $25,000 grant may be awarded annually to an Academy Member. Grants may be used as seed money for research projects.
  2. The Investigator Development Grant. The purpose of the Investigator Development Grant is to support the work of a young faculty member in facial plastic surgery conducting significant clinical or laboratory research and involved in the training of resident surgeons in research. One $15,000 grant may be awarded each year
  3. Resident Research Grant. The purpose of the Resident Research Grant is to stimulate resident research in projects that are well-conceived and scientifically valid. The resident grant is a $5,000 award given to residents who are AAFPRS members.

This year the Foundation is presenting three individuals with the Resident Research Grant and each will be acknowledged at the 2014 Fall Meeting in Orlando, FL in September.

Shaun C. Desai, MD – Dr. Desai is a resident at Washington University in St. Louis, MO. His research project titled “Complications of Alloplastic and Allograft Implants Following Septorhinoplasty” investigates the relative complication rates with the use of different types of alloplastic, allograft, and autologous implants in nasal surgery using national databases such as the State Inpatient Database (SID) and the State Ambulatory Surgery Database (SASD) in an effort to establish benchmarks to track safety and outcomes over time.

Leslie Kim, MD – Dr. Kim is a resident at the Ohio State University in Columbus, OH. Her project is titled “Fractionated CO2 Laser Resurfacing of Radial Forearm Free Flap Donor Site Scars.” The ablative fractionated carbon dioxide (CO2) laser is FDA-approved technology that has been shown effective in the treatment of a wide variety of dermatologic conditions, including surgical scars. It has also been shown in small observational studies to improve hand function when used to treat forearm STSG-related scar contractures. Dr. Kim’s project seeks to apply these positive results towards improving RFFF donor site scar outcomes following STSG repair with the objective of optimizing cosmesis, function, and patient satisfaction.

Sagar Patel, MD – Dr. Patel is a resident at Wayne State University in Detroit, MI. His project, “Biomechanics of the Orbital Floor Fracture” has three aims:

  1. Assess the force required to create a fracture, contrasting trauma directly to the globe and to the inferior orbital rim.
  2. Evaluate the relationship between intraocular pressure and strain on the floor in the setting of a trauma isolated to the globe juxtaposed with trauma directly to the inferior orbital rim, and;
  3. Create a classification system based on pattern of orbital fracture that determines likelihood of impact to the globe versus impact to the rim.
Shaun C. Desai, MD Leslie Kim, MD Sagar Patel, MD