Houston Facial Plastic Surgeon Russell W.H. Kridel, MD, Given The Stephen C. Duffy Award for Leadership, Health Policy and Advocacy

Known as “The Doctor’s Doctor,” Dr. Kridel is the first recipient of this honor

October 19, 2016 — Washington, DC —The American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (AAFPRS) awards Russell W.H. Kridel, MD, FACS, of Facial Plastic Surgery Associates in Houston, Texas, with the prestigious Stephen C. Duffy Award for Leadership, Health Policy and Advocacy.

The honor is awarded to the AAFPRS member who embodies the same tireless enthusiasm and commitment to health policy and member advocacy as Stephen C. Duffy, former Executive Vice President of the AAFPRS. In his years at the AAFPRS and American Medical Association (AMA), Duffy exemplified a vigorous commitment to the political process and greatly influenced the profession’s and the public’s knowledge of the quality care that facial plastic surgeons deliver. He clearly understood that patients look to physicians to help them wade through and solve problems in the health care system. A strong patient and physician advocate like Duffy is critical in delivering top-notch care.

As a world-renowned and politically connected facial plastic surgeon for more than 25 years, Dr. Kridel is a worthy first recipient of this award. His experience and knowledge led him to be one of the most sought-after facial plastic surgeons in the country. He is certified by the American Board of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery and the American Academy of Otolaryngology, Head & Neck Surgery. He has also published more than 100 scientific journal articles and book chapters on facial plastic surgery techniques. Dr. Kridel served as National President of the AAFPRS; he was president of his county medical society and the Texas Medical Association Foundation. He served on the AMA Council on Science and Public Health for 7 years and was its chair. Currently, he is a member of the AMA Board of Trustees. He is a clinical professor and director of facial plastic surgery at the University of Texas Health Science Center in Houston.

“It is an incredible honor to be chosen as the first recipient of the Stephen C. Duffy Award for Leadership, Health Policy and Advocacy,” says Dr. Kridel. “Steve’s tireless advocacy for our specialty has brought us great recognition and respect. We must interface for our patients’ sake with the government, with insurers, hospitals, legislators, and health care systems. We cannot leave the destiny of our patients and our health care system in the hands of those with neither a license to practice nor the education to provide patient care.”

Dr. Kridel received his award in Nashville at the AAFPRS Annual Meeting where world-class facial plastic surgery innovators and educators explored cutting-edge facial rejuvenation techniques.


The American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery is the world’s largest specialty association for facial plastic surgery. It represents more than 2,500 facial plastic and reconstructive surgeons throughout the world. The AAFPRS is a National Medical Specialty Society of the American Medical Association (AMA), and holds an official seat in both the AMA House of Delegates and the American College of Surgeons board of governors. AAFPRS members are board certified surgeons whose focus is surgery of the face, head, and neck. AAFPRS members subscribe to a code of ethics. In addition, the AAFPRS provide consumers with free information and brochures and a list of qualified plastic surgeons in their area by visiting the AAFPRS website, www.AAFPRS.org

For more information or to arrange an interview with a member of the AAFPRS or Dr. Russ Kridel, please contact KELZ PR: pattymathews@kelzpr.com or 646-450-5359