Available Awards

The available awards are coordinated by the Awards Committee of the Educational and Research Foundation for the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. The AAFPRS Foundation Awards Program was instituted to:

  • Recognize research completed and previously presented at an Academy meeting; and
  • Recognize members who have contributed to the Academy and to their communities.

The deadline for all entry forms and nominations for the Shuster, Tresley, Residency Travel, Wright, Dickinson, and Community Service is June 1 or the first business day thereafter.

The Roe & Gillies Awards are automatically selected from papers submitted by current fellows in the AAFPRS Foundation Fellowship Program. These papers are due Feb. 1 or the first business day thereafter.

2016 Awards Recipients

Congratulations to the following members for receiving these awards in 2016.

Sir Harold Delf Gillies Award

This award is named for Sir Harold Delf Gillies, a British otolaryngologist who in September 1917 described the tubed pedicle flap. A certificate and an award of $1,000 will be presented each year to a graduate fellow who submits the best basic science research paper written during a fellowship. Jordan J. Rihani, MD, for A Quantitated, Longitudinal Analysis of the Aging Nose and Implications for Rhinoplasty receives the award for 2016.

John Orlando Roe Award

This award, named for John Orlando Roe, the surgeon who accomplished the first rhinoplasty in 1887, includes a certificate and an award of $1,000 to be presented each year to an AAFPRS Fellow in an AAFPRS Foundation Fellowship Program who submits the best clinical research paper written during a fellowship year. This year’s recipient is Sapna A. Patel, MD, for Complication Rates in Delayed Reconstruction of the Head and Neck after Mohs Micrographic Surgery.

John Dickinson Teacher of the Year Award

This award honors an AAFPRS Fellow or Member for sharing knowledge about facial plastic surgery with the effective use of audiovisuals in any one year. John S. Rhee, MD, for his innovative changes to the video and interview section of the revamped JAMA Facial Plastic Surgery journal Web receives the Award for 2016.

Ben Shuster Memorial Award

The Ben Shuster Memorial Award is presented for the most outstanding research paper by a resident or fellow in training on any clinical work or research in facial plastic and reconstructive surgery delivered at a national meeting (or its equivalent) between March 1 and the following February 28. Each entrant must be the sole or senior author and an AAFPRS Member. Studies prepared during the first year after completion of residency training will be considered, provided research was conducted during the author’s residency or fellowship. A certificate and an award for $1,000 are presented. Virginia P. Teti, MD, for Analysis of the Cost Effectiveness of Topical Nasal Steroid Spray versus Surgical Therapy in Patients with Severe to Extreme Nasal Obstruction is the 2016 recipient.

Residency Travel Award

Two Residency Travel Awards of $500 each may be awarded to the most outstanding paper in facial plastic and reconstructive surgery primarily authored by a resident or medical student in training. The paper must be submitted by February 1 for consideration, and to be presented at the year’s Fall Meeting.

Coordinated by the International Symposium Committee and the AAFPRS Foundation Board of Directors. The 2016 recipient is Jennifer Fuller, MD, for Nasal Inspiratory Flow as an Objective Measure of Functional Septorhinoplasty Outcomes.

The Awards Committee would like to ask recent fellowship graduates to consider submitting your research papers for the Ben Schuster and Ira Tresley awards, as well as encourage medical student and resident application for the residency travel awards for next year’s fall meeting. For more information on the AAFPRS awards or to nominate a colleague for next year’s ceremonies, please click the “Available Awards” link below.

Available Awards | Entry Form* | Nomination Form*