Board Statement on Condemning Injustice and Supporting Inclusivity


March 19, 2021

The last year has been a year unlike no other. In addition to and as a consequence of the COVID-19 pandemic, there has been an alarming rise in violence and overt racism toward individuals of Asian descent. The leadership of the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (AAFPRS) feels compelled to speak out in condemnation of this form of injustice and cruelty, which has continued to escalate since the onset of the pandemic. 
We are an Academy of surgeons from diverse backgrounds and we stand together against discrimination, brutality and injustice in all its forms, and against any group. Many of our members of Asian and Pacific Islander descent have endured this increase in racial slurs and indignations in the workplace and in their community. Some have even received these attacks as they are caring for the very people hurling insults toward them. It is beyond comprehension how any individuals who are trusting themselves to the compassion and expertise of a healthcare worker, who happens to be of Asian descent, could show such disregard; we should speak up if we witness such events. Any animosity toward individuals of Asian descent or any other individuals based on their ethnicity, race, sexual orientation, religion or beliefs is not acceptable within the AAFPRS. 
We are an Academy of individuals with a specialized area of interest and/or practice in facial plastic and reconstructive surgery who are working together for greater excellence in our care of patients and education of our members. The AAFPRS Board of Directors, AAFPRS Team and AAFPRS Task Force for Diversity and Inclusion wish to reach out to our Academy community, and especially to our members who have suffered the effects of any type of racism, or bias, to offer unwavering support and empathy. Once again, we call upon all in our AAFPRS family to work together to fight discrimination, racial violence, bias and all forms of inequity in our communities and workplaces—while also further collaborating to assure our Academy is an authentic place of inclusion for every one of our members, colleagues and friends.
With support for all our Members, 

Paul J. Carniol, MD
AAFPRS President


Mary Lynn Moran, MD
AAFPRS Immediate Past President

Corey S. Maas, MD
AAFPRS President-elect

Jennifer Parker Porter, MD

Acting Group VP for Diversity and Inclusion


Steven J. Jurich
AAFPRS Executive Vice President & CEO

AAFPRS Board of Directors

Paul J. Carniol, MD

Group VP, Education-elect*
Theresa A. Hadlock, MD

Immediate Past President
Mary Lynn Moran, MD

Acting Group VP, Diversity & Inclusion
Jennifer Parker Porter, MD

Corey S. Maas, MD 

Canadian Regional Director
Mark Samaha, MD

Edward D. Buckingham, MD   

Southern Regional Director
Mark M. Beaty, MD

Theda C. Kontis, MD

Eastern Regional Director
Sydney C. Butts, MD

Benjamin C. Marcus, MD

Midwestern Regional Director
Lamont R. Jones, MD, MBA

Group VP, Public & Regulatory Affairs
Travis T. Tollefson, MD

Western Regional Director
Brian J.F. Wong, MD, PhD

Group VP, Research, Development & Humanitarian     
Lisa E. Ishii, MD

Oren Friedman, MD

Group VP, Research, Development & Humanitarian-elect*     
Anthony E. Brissett, MD

Young Physician Representative
Grace Lee Peng, MD

Group VP, Membership & Society Relations   
Steven H. Dayan, MD

AAFPRS Executive Vice President & CEO*
Steven J. Jurich

Group VP of Education
David W. Kim, MD

*Ex-officio, non-voting member of the Executive Committee