AAFPRS Research Grants

The RISE Research Center was developed to support the AAFPRS members in the process of conducting quality research while providing funding to complete the essential studies that will meet the needs of the specialty. This includes providing members with academic training in the principles of clinical and basic science research, design, research management and statistical analysis as well as expanding capacity to conduct clinical and basic science research to provide scientifically based evidence to support treatment decisions and recommendations.

Our goal is to provide a world class Research Center for members and industry to collaborate while discovering opportunities to improve patient care. In addition to the grants listed the Foundation also provides grant recipients with access to mentors. These individuals are leaders of the foundation as well as AAFPRS members with success in executing research projects.

To assist in achieving these goals, the AAFPRS Foundation EBM/Research Committee has established a RISE Review Group. This group developed and implemented a review program to receive, review and assess applications received for the three Leslie Bernstein grants. Implemented in 2022, in addition to identifying those applications that are meritorious for funding, they are also building a team of reviewers that are experts in the area of facial plastic surgery and are experienced in the review process.

In 2024, the RISE Review Group is led by John Chi, MD, Committee Chair, Myrian Loyo Li, MD, Committee Senior Advisor and Amar Suryadevara, MD, Committee Vice Chair. The Foundation also acknowledges the following 2024 Reviewers. Chaz Stucken, MD, Shiayan Yang, MD, Jessyka Lighthall, MD, Frank Garritano, MD, Matthew Miller, MD, Mark Mims, MD, Andrea Park, MD, Tessa Hadlock, MD, Anthony Sclafani, MD, Emily Spataro, MD, Hillary Newsome, MD, Jordan Garcia, MD, Nneoma Wamkpah, MD, Lamont Jones, MD, Suresh Mohan, MD, Dane Genther, MD and Peter Vila, MD.

"The future of facial plastic surgery depends upon delivering the best possible Patient care through innovation and research. Through the AAFPRS RISE program we have made a significant investment in the most valuable part of our specialty - our membership. The development of innovation of our research pipeline is reliant upon the AAFPRS research grant mechanisms -both for funding and the professional development of our researchers." - John Chi, MD EBM/Research Committee Chair

Leslie Bernstein Grants

The Leslie Bernstein Grants Program is generously funded by an endowment from Leslie Bernstein, MD, DDS. The program is coordinated by the Research/EBM Leadership and Committee of the AAFPRS Foundation There are three grants available through the program:

The Bernstein Grant
The purpose of the grant is to encourage original research projects which will advance facial plastic and reconstructive surgery. A $25,000 grant may be awarded annually to an Academy Member. Grants may be used as seed money for research projects. 

The Investigator Development Grant
The purpose of the Investigator Development Grant is to support the work of a young faculty member in facial plastic surgery conducting significant clinical or laboratory research and involved in the training of resident surgeons in research. One $15,000 grant may be awarded each year.

Resident  and Fellows-in Training Research Grant
The purpose of the Resident Research Grant is to stimulate resident research in projects that are well-conceived and scientifically valid. The resident grant is a $5,000 award given to residents who are AAFPRS members.

If you are an active AAFPRS Member and would like to learn more about any of the above research opportunities, please email research@aafprs.org