Facial Plastic Surgeon Corey S. Maas, MD Installed 2021-2022 President

of the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Washington, DC, - (October 21, 2021) — The American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (AAFPRS) is pleased to announce that Corey S. Maas, MD, has been installed earlier this month as President of the organization and will serve the 2021-2022 year term. He is the founder of The Maas Clinic, located in San Francisco, where he’s dedicated to his patients, emphasizing safety and outstanding treatment outcomes.

The AAFPRS is the world’s largest specialty association for facial plastic surgery. The organization seeks to educate medical professionals, government and the general public about facial plastic surgery as a specialty that requires intensive training and competence, embodies high ethical standards, artistic ideals, commitment to humanitarian service and a desire to enhance the quality of human life.

Dr. Maas is certified by the American Board of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery and the American Board of Otolaryngology—Head and Neck Surgery. He has dedicated himself to helping advance the field of facial plastic surgery with groundbreaking clinical research, receiving many honors and awards for his endeavors, including the prestigious Sir Harold Delf Gilles Award from the AAFPRS. Dr. Maas has published more than 150 book chapters and articles, and is regularly recruited to lecture to medical societies, both nationally and internationally. He served as Chief of the Division of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery at UCSF for 11 years. Dr. Maas is also proud of the specialty education of facial plastic surgery to fellows-in-training, residents and medical students.

“As we emerge from these challenging times, our leadership will make every effort to communicate and engage with the strength of our organization, our talented and innovative members, through live video streaming and live meetings. We value each member and will foster meaningful dialogue leading to action items to further improve membership and engagement,” says Dr. Maas.

As AAFPRS President, Dr. Maas will closely collaborate with other core specialties in the cosmetic surgery field and the continued development of AAFPRS’ outstanding educational programs. He adds, “With new member committees the AAFPRS will deepen our engagement of our senior leadership as well as inspire our young members to get engaged and active. We will also look to recruit our colleagues in Otolaryngology/Head & Neck Surgery with courses designed to help those that are not full-time facial plastic surgeons and encourage means to recognize and advance their continuing interests and learning in facial plastic surgery. We will work at the national level to promote, protect and defend the Facial Plastic Surgery brand. Additionally, international initiatives are underway with senior leaders like Dr. Vito Quatela, while we continue efforts at home to further improve the website and brand, as well as other member benefits of the AAFPRS as a highly independent stalwart subspecialty of Otolaryngology/Head & Neck Surgery and Plastic Surgery.”

Dr. Maas succeeds outgoing president Dr. Paul J. Carniol who welcomes Dr. Maas to the position stating, “As a long time and active member of the AAFPRS for many years, Dr. Maas exudes the commitment and passion that make him a great, active leader. With his experience and extensive knowledge in the field, his contributions will further our Academy along to be the dependable resource for patients and member surgeons alike.”

“I congratulate Dr. Maas on assuming the vitally important leadership role of AAFPRS President,” asserts AAFPRS Executive Vice President & CEO Steve Jurich. “In particular, I deeply applaud his commitment to engaging our members and our industry partners as meaningful strategic pathways for advancing the critical mission of our Academy and the growth of our Specialty.”




The American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery is the world’s largest specialty association for facial plastic surgery. It represents more than 2,200 facial plastic and reconstructive surgeons throughout the world. The AAFPRS is a National Medical Specialty Society of the American Medical Association (AMA) and holds an official seat in both the AMA House of Delegates and the American College of Surgeons Board of Governors. AAFPRS members are board certified surgeons whose focus is surgery of the face, head, and neck (inclusive of Rhinoplasty and Facial Rejuvenation). More information at www.FaceMD.org.

For more information, or to schedule an interview with an AAFPRS spokesperson, please contact the Academy’s public relations firm, KELZ Media at 646-450-5359 and ask to speak to Patty – pattymathews@kelzmedia.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AAFPRS
Twitter: @AAFPRS
Instagram: @AAFPRS