2019 Runoff Election Notice to Members

November 14, 2019

Dear AAFPRS Members,

As we announced at the Annual Business Meeting on October 5, 2019, and in the numerous communications to members since then, today at our offices at 10:00 a.m., the Academy completed the runoff elections and announced the results, which are:

      •  President-elect: Paul J. Carniol, MD 

      •  Eastern Regional Director: Sydney Butts, MD* 

      •  Director-at-Large: Oren Friedman, MD 

* Please note: As you may recall from our communication of October 24, the other candidate for Eastern Regional Director withdrew from that runoff election, resulting in Dr. Butts' election to that position. 

For your reference, here is a complete listing of the election results for the 2019 AAPRS National Elections.

Complete 2019 AAFPRS National Election Results

Paul J. Carniol, MD

Group Vice President of Public and Regulatory Affairs-elect 
Travis T. Tollefson, MD 

Eastern Regional Director 
Sydney Butts, MD 

Western Regional Director 
Brian J.F. Wong, MD 

Oren Friedman, MD 

Audit Committee 
Jennifer C. Kim, MD 
Nominating Committee
Edwin F. Williams, III, MD 
Fred G. Fedok, MD 
Linda N. Lee, MD 
Midwestern Region Credentials Committee Representative 
Harley Seth Dresner, MD 

On behalf of the entire AAFPRS Board and staff, we extend our gratitude to all Academy volunteers, all nominees who ran, and those elected. It is through members service and dedication to the Academy that we will forge a successful and bright future. We look forward to working with all of you.



Theda C. Kontis, MD, AAFPRS Board Secretary